Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Lee Bennett Hopkins Promising Poet Award

The Lee Bennett Hopkins Promising Poet Award was established by Hopkins along with the International Reading Association in 1995 to encourage new poets in their writing. These poets have only published two books (to qualify for the award), but their work has already been judged to be of high quality. The award is given every three years.

Recent recipient:
Gregory Neri
Neri, Gregory. 2009. Chess Rumble. New York: Lee & Low Books.

For more details, get your copy of The Poetry Teacher’s Book of Lists.
And if you already have the book, but would like to suggest additions, corrections, or offer other input, please do so in the COMMENTS area. Thanks!

No comments:

Post a Comment